Our next event is in

Our Drivers

Jason Plato Team BMR

Jason Plato

Ash Sutton Team BMR


James Cole Team BMR


Josh Price Team BMR



Jason Plato

Jason Plato has won more races than any other driver in the history of the BTCC. Making his debut for Williams-Renault back in 1997 after winning the Renault Spyder Series the year before and instantly sending shockwaves down the pit lane by taking pole position at his first attempt at Donington Park, which he then backed up at Silverstone for the following rounds. Those results would see the Oxfordshire racer end his season third overall, remaining with the Renault squad until it withdrew from the championship in 1999.

The new Millennium would see a switch to the factory Vauxhall squad run by Triple Eight Race Engineering alongside Yvan Muller with Jason winning his first title in 2001 before taking a two year sabbatical.

Returning in 2004 with new manufacturer SEAT, Jason continued to rack-up wins at an impressive rate, although he was unable to convert them into a second Championship title for his new team.  However he did enter the record books becoming the first driver to win a BTCC race driving a diesel powered car in 2008, with the Seat Leon TDi.

2009 brought a deal with RML placing Jason in an RML/Silverline Tools Chevrolet, Jason finished the season runner up to Colin Turkington. 

With Jason remaining with RML in 2010 he won his second BTCC title and equalled the great Andy Rouse’s record of 60 race wins.

Jason moved to the Triple Eight squad in 2012 with returning Manufacturer MG where he stayed until the end of 2014. During his time at MG he surpassed the milestone of 400 BTCC races at Donington Park during 2013.  A third title at MG wasn’t to be, although his 2nd place finish in 2014 was enough to secure the Manufacturers Title for MG.

In 2015 Jason switched teams to join us here at Team BMR piloting a front-wheel drive Volkswagen CC alongside Colin Turkington, Aron Smith and Team Owner Warren Scott.  Right from the start of the season at Brands Hatch Jason showed his class and was leading the second race of the day by a country mile when disaster would strike following a puncture which ended his race and placing him 12th in the championship standings.  By the season finale Jason went into the finale at Brands Hatch 23 points behind championship leader Gordon Shedden.  A win in the final race of the season wasn’t quite enough to clinch a third title, finishing in second place just four points behind winner Shedden in the overall Drivers Championship and runner up in the Independent Drivers Championship eight points behind BMR team mate Colin Turkington.

For 2016 Jason piloted the all new Subaru Levorg Sports Tourer, and he celebrated the milestone of his 500th BTCC race with a race win at Knockhill in Scotland.  Jason ended the season in 7th place in the overall drivers standings.


Ash made the step from karting to car racing in 2010, obtaining a full season under his belt in Formula Vee.  In the year of 2011, he was in an unfortunate road car accident which meant that he spent the next two and half years in and out of hospital due to necessary operatic procedures and injuries which brought his racing career to a halt.

Following his recovery in 2014, Ash finally made a return to car racing. He secured a drive in British MSA Formula Ford and had a successful year winning the Scholarship Championship and finished a very impressive third overall. At the end of that year, BMR owner Warren Scott approached Ash to invite him to drive for Team BMR in the Renault UK Clio Cup which saw Ash make the switch from open wheel single seaters to front-wheel drive tin top racing and what a year he had.  Ash won his very first race which set the stone for the year ahead. Ash secured the rookie title of Graduate Cup very early on in the season and from that point focussed on the outright title itself. The last round saw a battle between four drivers and Ash was triumphant in winning the overall Championship.

After a strong year racing in the Clio Cup, Ash knew he had to push for a spot within the British Touring Car Championship. He managed to secure an MG manufacture drive in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship with Triple Eight Racing.  Right from the outset Ash made his mark on the championship with an impressive 4th place finish on his BTCC debut and his success continued throughout the season leading to his maiden win in a very wet race three at Croft.  There were two further podiums, two pole positions from qualifying and two fastest racing laps.  On finals day he lifted the coveted Jack Sears Trophy after finishing top rookie, a championship he led for the whole of 2016.  

For 2017 Ash is driving for Team BMR as he pilots the all new Subaru Levorg Sports Tourer.


Liverpool based professional racing driver James Cole joined Team BMR for the 2016 season and raced the Subaru Levorg Sports Tourer in the British Touring Car Championship in 2016. The 27-year-old began his racing career in 2007 competing in BRSCC North West Formula Ford. He immediately won this regional championship and in 2008 moved to the main British Formula Ford Championship won previously by the likes of Ayrton Senna and Jenson Button. In 2009, James won the British championship taking seven wins and fifteen podiums and was also nominated for the McLaren Autosport Award. In 2010 he moved to the National British Formula Three Championship winning eleven races and taking five poles, seven fastest laps and a record breaking twenty nine podiums. In 2011 he moved up to FIA Formula 2 and then in 2013 to the BTCC.

A streetwise consumer road-safety brand that celebrates a passion for driving, and advocates keeping a ‘cool head’ behind the wheel. Created by, professional racing driver, James Cole who was knocked down and badly injured as an 11-year-old school boy, the brand challenges us all to change the way we drive. Drivecool is a phrase that James dreamt up when he was first embarking on his racing career. “Race hard, but drive cool” he would tell himself whenever he climbed into his car.” And as simple as that, the drivecool brand was born.


Josh started racing in 2010, winning his debut in MSA Kart Racing.  Since then Josh has achieved championships and victories at the highest level of British and European Karting.

In 2015 Josh made his career jump into the Renault UK Clio Cup with Team Pyro for part of the season and he remained within the team with the support of the BMR Academy for a full season in 2016 where he eventually finished 6th in the Championship.

With the assistance of the BMR Academy again for 2017, Josh has graduated to the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship driving the Subaru Levorg.

The Technical Team

Warren Scott Team BMR Technical

Warren Scott

Team PrincipAl

Vicki Scott Team BMR Technical

Vicki Scott

Company Secretary


Alan Cole

Team Manager

Carl Faux Team BMR Technical

Carl Faux

Chief Designer